Local election battlegrounds 3 – the candidates are revealed

The full list of candidates for May 3’s elections to Hastings Borough Council was unveiled earlier this week.

As a result of boundary changes the whole council is up for election and therefore Hastings voters will be electing two councillors in each of the town’s 16 council wards.

Muriel Matters House, home of Hastings Borough Council.

The Conservatives, Green Party and Labour are fielding 32 candidates in total, two in each wards. The Liberal Democrats are fielding two candidates in 15 wards, with the exclusion of Old Hastings where the Liberal Democrats opted to stand aside in favour of the Greens.

The For Britain Movement, The Democrats and Veterans Party and UKIP – are each putting up one candidate; UKIP in Gensing while The For Britain Movement and the Democrats and Veterans Party are both fielding candidates in Castle.

And so the fight is on for control of Hastings Borough Council, we’ll know the results in just over three weeks time.


The full list of candidates is, all names of candidates appear in the order they appear on the ballot.

Ashdown: Gabriel Carlyle (Green); Lex Coan (Lab); Mike Edwards (Con); Lindsey Fellows (Lib Dem); Paul Robert Homer (Green); Sorrell Marlow-Eastwood (Con); Steve Thorpe (Lab); Robert Wakeford (Lib Dem).

Baird: Warren Davies (Lab); John Faulkner (Lib Dem); Terry Fawthrop (Con); Susan McDougall (Lib Dem); Chris Petts (Green); Peter Pragnell (Con); Judy Scott (Green); Mike Turner (Lab).

Braybrooke: Sue Beaney (Lab); Jason Brooker(Lib Dem); Mark Charlesworth (Con); Michael Davies (Lib Dem); Janet Grigg (Con); Sally Phillips (Green); Dominic Sabetian (Lab); Gerald Turner (Green).

Castle: Graeme Hampton (Green); Leah Levane (Lab); Nick Perry (Lib Dem); Charlotte Lowenna Potter (Green); Stewart Gregory Rayment (Lib Dem); Judy Rogers (Lab); John Sydes (Con); Kevin Tomlin (Con); Steven Anthony Ward (The For Britain Movement); Graeme James White (Democrats and Veterans Party).

Central St Leonards: Sherry Clark (Green); Sue Clarke (Con); Ruby Cox (Lab); Stephen Milton (Lib Dem); Milan Upendrakumar Rai (Green); Tony Seymour (Lib Dem); Trevor Webb (Lab); Graeme David Williams (Con).

Conquest: Peter Francis Bolwell (Green); Ian Bunch (Lib Dem); Margaret Burns (Lib Dem); Nicholas Davies (Lab); Ken Davis (Green); Paul Foster (Con); Andy Ives (Lab); John Rankin (Con)

Gensing: Craig Andrew (Con); Catherine Burrows (Con); Pamela Ann Croft (UKIP); Will Davis (Green); Colin Fitzgerald (Lab); Kim Forward (Lab); Lee Grant (Lib Dem); Karen Simnett (Green); Sue Tait (Lib Dem).

Hollington: Paul Barnett (Lab); Nigel Barry (Con); Joel De-Roe (Con); Maya Evans (Lab); Anne Gallop (Lib Dem); Arkady Johns (Green); Mike Lushington (Lib Dem); Sarah Macbeth (Green).

Maze Hill: Paul Hunt (Lib Dem); Brekke Larsen (Lab); Rob Lee (Con); Chris Lewcock (Lib Dem); Beccy McCray(Green); Andy Patmore (Con); Chris Saunders (M- Green); Mike Southon (Lab).

Old Hastings: James Bacon (Lab); Alan Hay (Con); Julia Hilton (Green); Dany Louise (Lab); Andrea Helen Needham (Green); Lisa Rankin (Con).

Ore: Andrew Battley (Lab); Heather Bishop (Lab); Jenny de Vuyst (Green); James Dee (Con); Oliver Devaux (Con); Hunter-Burbridge (Lib Dem); Gary Rolfe (Green); Kate Tudgay (Lib Dem).

St Helens: Andy Batsford (Lab); Antonia Berelson (Lab); Lucy Mary Brennan (Green); Martin Clarke (Con); Emlyn Jones (Lib Dem); Bob Lloyd (Lib Dem; Matt Lynch (Con); Carol Susan Prior (Green).

Silverhill: Dave Carey-Stuart (Green); Claire Hamill (Con); James Hollis (Con); Margi O’Callaghan (Lab); Chris Saunders (F- Green); Nigel Colin Sinden (Lab); Jon Smalldon (Lib Dem); Susan Stoodley (Lib Dem).

Tressell: Phil Broad (Lib Dem);Tania Charman (Lab); Peter Chowney (Lab); Terry Keen (Con); Oliver Maloney (Lib Dem); Patrick Millar (Con); Catherine Taylor (Green); Christopher William Whitrow (Green).

West St Leonards: Karl Beaney (Con); Matthew Beaver (Con); Peter Clarke (Lib Dem); Becca Horn (Green); Matthew McDonnell (Green); Eve Montgomery (Lib Dem); Julia Price (Lab); Anne Rouse (Lab).

Wishing Tree: Nina Blanch (Lib Dem); Trica Kennelly (Lib Dem); Abby Nichol (Green); Alan Roberts (Lab); Phil Scott (Lab); Thad Skews (Green); Bexx Veness (Con); John Waterfall (Con)

Hastings In Focus interviewed the men who lead the two main political groups on Hastings Borough Council at the moment, one of whom is likely to wild power after the elections. If you haven’t watched those interviews click the links below now.

Conservative group leader Rob Lee talks to Stuart Baillie.

Labour group leader Peter Chowney talks to Stuart Baillie.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Remembering old Humphrey…

Spare a thought for Old Humphrey. In case you are wondering, Old Humphrey was one of the pen names used by George Mogridge, a very popular religious writer in the 19th century and who remains popular in some countries today.  Alas, he is virtually forgotten in Hastings despite Old Humphrey Avenue just off All Saints Street […]